Day 24: Original 50 Days of Pray Revisited

Thoughts on Day 24: Pray remains an important aspect ion ever believers life. This is still something I am working at, and think it is something we almost always are working at. Keep talking to God, he is a good listener and will converse with you.

 

8 March 16

 DAY TWENTY-FOUR

“Here’s what I want you to do: Find a quiet, secluded place so you won’t be tempted to role-play before God. Just be there as simply and honestly as you can manage. The focus will shift from you to God, and you will begin to sense his grace. (Matthew 6:6 MSG)

Praying has always been a battle for my time. Taking time to pray and meet with God should be my heist priority but for some reasons something “more important” seems to take my time away.

Jesus gave the disciples some directions in Matthew 6:6, that if we just attempt, would improve our prayer lives drastically. To often we try to pray in a room with lots of distractions. They may not be TV or radio distractions but visual items that keep our mind unfocused. Maybe it’s the dining room where while trying to pray you glance over into the kitchen and see the pile of dirty dishes you meant to do, not you are focused on that. Lots of other examples I could give but I think you get the point.

Some of the best times I have had in prayer is when I found an almost empty place in the house and waited on the Lord, or sitting outside in the majesty of His creation, away from all distractions.

The other point I want to talk about is that it talks about the focus shifting. Even if the first ten minutes of personal prayer seem all over the place or wandering I encourage you to keep pressing in, Jesus said your focus will shift from you to God, just don’t give up until you feel Him close and you have had some time alone with your creator.

Dear Jesus, prayer is a hard thing for some, myself included. I ask today You will help me to take sometime alone with You everyday and focus on You so that I can connect with You and receive direction for my life. Amen

Leave a Reply

