Day 1: 50 Days of Change

“My child, listen and be wise: Keep your heart on the right course.”‭‭Proverbs‬ ‭23:19‬ ‭NLT‬‬

The desires of our hearts tend to guide us. What we consume with our eyes and ears shape us. Somethings we see and hear we don’t have power to hear or see, but much of is our choice. The things we watch on tv, pay money at the theatre to see, play on our car stereos and iPods and surf on the internet are all choices of things we consume. Music playing at the mall, bus or anywhere public, we have no control, similar to the ads that bombard our life, we are stuck with most of it unable t do much to avoid it. 

As children of God he calls us to listen and be wise. If what we are watching or listening to is offensive or goes against what we believe why are we watching it? Do we as believers feel the need to consume the latest Hollywood offering to fulfill our need for entertainment? Or do we find godly reviews and discern how this movie will impact our faith. Don’t be fooled by the thought that I am a strong enough Christian it won’t affect me. Look at David in his confidence in his relationship with God, first sign of a woman in he created a situation that spiralled out of control he brought the situation to himself. She didn’t tempt him, she was a few rooftops away. We can say know to temptation, Joseph is a fine example of a man who had temptation thrust at him and he ran from it. Jesus also was tempted and stood his ground.

Keep your heart on the right course. What you ultimatly do with your eyes and ears is between you and God. My thoughts and writings are just that mine, what you take from them and apply are up to you and God. The things we watch and hear can make us immune from their dangers. If we continualy watch shows glorifying premarital sex, adultery, divorce and abortion we become sensitized to the dangers they have in us and society. Listening to music that is racist, sexist and profane numbs us to this problem in the world. It actually encourages it. 

I personally am working hard to guide what I see and hear. It isn’t easy but as time goes on and I keep trusting the Holy Spirit in my entertainment life, he shows me things and guides my path. He can help you, ask him to be your rating system, giving you cues if your watching or listening to something that may be harmful to you.  Trust that avoiding a particular movie or music you are not missing anything important. Keep your heart on Jesus.

Jesus, so many times we get caught up in the newest movies and entertainment. I want to keep my heart focused on yo and your love for those around me, let me be open to your voice and show me how I can reach others. Let my heart and life reflect what I say I believe, let the people around me see your love flowing from me. They matter to you Jesus, so they matter to me. I want to change Amen

1 thought on “Day 1: 50 Days of Change”

Leave a Reply

