Day 48: 50 Days Deeper

“My eyes are always on the LORD, for he rescues me from the traps of my enemies.”‭‭Psalms‬ ‭25:15‬ ‭NLT‬‬

David was a man who knew what traps of the enemy looked like. He spent a lot of time running from king Saul who wanted him dead. Saul was jealous of David, and this jealously became an obsession to wipe out David from existence. Saul was anointed by God, David was anointed by God, so what made David different then Saul? Saul at some point in his walk with God decided to take his eyes of God and asked for help from other ‘gods’, David on the other hand always kept his eyes on God. David walking in integrity with God, couldn’t even bring himself to kill Saul when he had the chance because Saul had been anointed by God.

The enemy had put a trap in place for David. Saul was asleep in the same cave that farther in David was hiding away in. David saw the opportunity to rid himself of his enemy, yet when the closer he got he realized that he could not do such a thing. So he cut the robe of Saul. Even this small act of defiance towards the king upset David. But David avoided the trap that the enemy had set for him. 

If David had killed Saul then and there he would have been king. His issues would have been over with. But David didn’t want to start his kingship like that. All the other kingdoms around hem lived by someone killing their king and assending the throne. David had insight from God that the Israelite kingdom needed to be different, set apart from all other kingdoms. 

This is just a example of one time David avoided traps, of the enemy. David wasn’t perfect and we read of the trap the enemy caught him in concerning sex, but God forgave him.

So are you keeping your eyes on the Lord? Or are you hitting every trap in your path? I pray today that you trust God with everything, and he will guide your path.

Jesus, thank you for guiding my life. I pray that when I keep my eyes on you you will help me avoid me traps of the enemy. Let my life reflect your love to those around me. The people of this world matter to you so they matter to me, let me be effect in reaching them. Amen

Leave a Reply

